Search This Blog

Monday, 11 July 2011

Parish council representatives proposed for New Forest National Park Authority

Parish Council-elected representatives to the New Forest National Park Authority are being put forward to the Government for approval.

The four parish councillors from each quarter of the National Park now need to be ratified by Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Caroline Spelman.

Elections are held every four years to coincide with Parish Council elections and were organised by the Hampshire Association of Local Councils (HALC), with voting closing on Thursday 7 July.

In the South West ‘quadrant’ of the National Park, a new member to the NPA is Cllr Richard Frampton, of Ringwood Town Council. From the 9 of 10 possible council votes, Cllr Frampton was elected after receiving 5 votes, with 3 going to Cllr Kathleen Gulliver of Sway Parish Council, and 1 going to Cllr John Hitchens of New Milton Town Council.

In the North East quadrant Cllr Bob Morris, a Landford Parish Councillor, continues as an NPA member. Landford is in Wiltshire, which is not holding parish council elections this year, and consequently an election is not due until 2013.

In the North West quadrant, Cllr John Sangar, of Woodgreen Parish Council, continues with his seat on the NPA as he was elected unopposed.

Cllr Clive Maton, Denny Lodge Parish Council, was elected to continue as an NPA member representing the South East quadrant. From the 8 of 9 possible council votes, Cllr Maton received a 7-1 majority against Cllr Beverley Thorne of Fawley Parish Council.

For more information visit the HALC website:

Recommended Reading: New Forest National Park: Short Walks by local author David Foster

1 comment:

  1. Hi, Steve,

    As a follow up, I've have just blogged on New Forest Parishes over at